My Photo Alphabet

After performing some initial research I was ready to undertake the Task My Self. I took my Nikon D3100 DSLR camera and went to the Nature to look for letters.

There was a few challenges that I faced during this task. First challenge was that I saw everything as a fixed shapes. I did not think that I could look at the shapes from a different angle or frame my shoot to capture the letter shape. After I’ve done a few shoot and got the first letters I understood that my view has to adjust a bit in order to fulfill the potential of the surrounding shapes.

The second challenge was that I was not able to find some of the letters outside. I found that with more complicating letter that have more curves than others. For example letter S was complicating to find outside so I looked for it at home and found it.  I understood from this that some of the shapes are much easier to find in the inside environment although it is still possible to find them outside as well.

s

 

An example of this could be that I thought I will never find letter G in the nature however I did but it is not very clear although You can still see it.

G

 

I have learned from this task that it is a lot about perspective of how You see things. It requires time and consideration whether a possible shape can be seen in the shoot you are about to take. That is why this task was good to train my “photographers-eye” and make my views of the surrounding a bit different.

After I had took shoots of all the letters  of English Alphabet I had to combine them into one poster Display. I have used Photoshop Software to combine Imagines into a poster display. Before I made the collage I have drawn a sketch to determine of how it should look like.

sketch

A decide to stick to a simple theme. For the collage I have create a white background Layer in Photoshop (size of a A3 paper). The to add individual images I have opened them separately and dragged them on to the background layer. A dragged imaged created a new layer and using a free transform tool I have scaled the image into desirable size and framed it it to the right position. I have done the same technique for all the pictures. When all the pictures were in place  have use Text tool to add a key above the picture to indicate what letter it is. Here is My completed Photo Alphabet Poster Display:

COLLAGE

Leave a Reply

