Adobe Illustrator & Inkscape

In the last workshop I was introduced to Adobe Illustrator and Inkscape software packages. I will have to use one of these software packages to make my poster for the Developing & Realisation Unit.

The workshop took 2 hours. First hour was given to the Adobe Illustrator. I was explained how to use the main User Interface of the software. I have learned how to create different shapes, how to group them, change the colour of them, move shapes around, change shapes, delete and hide parts of them etc. After following teacher guide about the basic features of the software we were allowed to have a play around with the software and create something. After introduction to the basics I was able to create an Android OS logo which only took about 5-10 minutes to make. I found Adobe Illustrator fairly easy to understand and navigate providing a lot of tools and support.

Learning Adobe Illustrator:

10807899_384867778344873_830137036_n

My Android Logo:

Untitled

In the second hour of the workshop I was introduced to InkScape software package. InkScape is a free open source vector graphics editor. We were discovering the features of InkScape software by creating a Japanese doll (KOKESHI DOLL). I have learned how to navigate the software as well as how to use basics tool and create shapes and group them. We have learned similar features as we did with Adobe Illustrator. However because InkScape is a different software we learned to do it the other way around. Personally I found InkScape harder to use just because it requires to do more in terms of shape alignment, grouping and navigation. The User Interface of the software is not appealing to me as well.

Learning InkScape:

Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 16.01.15

My Kokeshi Doll:

To summarise both Softwares are good for creating and editing Vector graphics. I believe that it is down to personal preference which one a person chooses to use. Personally I will be choosing Adobe Illustrator as the User Interface is more appealing for me. In one hour session I found it easier to understand Adobe Illustrator rather than Inkscape. The alignment of the shapes in Adobe Illustrator is easier for me because the software shows if the shapes are aligned in the same position if you move them around which is helpful when you want to mirror the shapes or create same shapes and align them in the same lines. In Inkscape you have to regard to the ruler or use a tool to align the shapes. These are the main reason why I will be choosing Adobe Illustrator over Inkscape.

I have mentioned Vector Graphics quite a few times. What is Vector Graphics ? Vector graphic is a type of image. Vector images are graphical representations of mathematical objects such as lines, curves, polygons, rectangles, squares etc. the graphics are generated by the computer and they follow x and y axis as their reference definition. Vector images (unlike raster images) are not made of dots so images can be scaled to a large size and do not loose any image quality.

Leave a Reply

